RSS

Random and Quick Veg-Box Meals

27 Jan

I LOVE getting Veg Boxes!! If I get home and want to whip up a meal in a hurry, I can..

I like to be creative, making things like:

Bulgar Mix-Up

  • 40-60g Bulgar Wheat
  • 1 sachet Miso Soup stock made up to 300ml ((Sanchi))
  • 1 – 2 Carrots, roughly chopped
  • 1 large Leek, sliced thinly
  • 1/2 Courgette, roughly chopped
    5ml Oil ((Olive Oil / Toasted Sesame Oil / Vegetable Oil / ..))
  • Soy Sauce, as desired
  • Agave Nectar ((Honey works too)), as desired
  • A few drops of Lemon Juice
  • ((Optionals: More Vegetables; Sesame Seeds; Grated Ginger; Chopped Peanuts / Cashews; ..))
.
In a small saucepan, boil the stock and add the bulgar wheat. Bring to the boil, then simmer for 7 – 10 minutes ((depending on how you like your bulgar)), stirring occasionally, until almost all the liquid has gone.
Tip the pan into a serving bowl when cooked. In the same pan, heat the oil over a low-medium heat until very hot and add the carrots and leek and fry for a minute or two before adding the courgette. Now add the soy sauce, agave / honey and lemon juice, and continue to heat, stirring, for another few minutes.
Now add the bulgar back to the pan and cook over a low heat, stirring continuously, until thoroughly hot and the liquid has all gone. ((If using, stir through the optional additional ingredients of choice for the last minute or two of heating.))
Serve in a warm bowl and enjoy.
.
.
This works well with brown rice, too!!
.
.
And you can change up the veggies depending on the seasonal stuff available, your mood or ((for me!!)) what arrives on the doorstep on Monday!!
.
.
.
.
.
.
Other great veggie-filled meals include..
.
.
.
.
Sausage & Mash – MY WAY. It’s purple!!
The sausages are Quorn and the mash is ..my secret!! 😉
.
.
.
.
Spaghetti Squash Bolognese
My twist on the classic, I guess.. using Quorn mince, of course!!
.
.
.
.
Healthified Chinese Food
        
.
.
.
.
I used vegetable Siu Mai and Dim Sum, unfortunately bought, not made ((yet!!)) I plan to make my own Dim Sum and Wontons at some point, though!!
.
.
.
.
Stir-Fried Veg in Miso Dressing with Soba
.
.
.
.
Tofu Scramble
On WW Toast for a savoury brunch
.
.
.
.
Or simply a huge bowl of steamed veggies!!
This, of course, is the BEST way to enjoy a Veg Box!! Hands-down!!
.
.
.
.

OK well, if anyone wants a recipe from this page ((not that anybody actually visits my page!!)), just comment and I’ll post it/them soon!!

Question:

What is YOUR favourite way to eat vegetables?? Personally, my new favourite thing is steamed carrots – AH-MAZING!!!! Seriously, try it!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2012 in Recipes, Veg Box

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Random and Quick Veg-Box Meals

  1. Emma (Sweet Tooth Runner)

    January 27, 2012 at 23:51

    Girl your blog looks AWESOME! I love the layout and it looks so pretty! 🙂

    I think we are secretly twins because I had bulgar wheat for dinner WITH steamed carrots! They are one of my fave veggies too!!

     
    • jadelovespat

      January 28, 2012 at 09:04

      Aww thank you!! Hopefully more people will read it as it develops – hopefully my writing improves haha!!
      Ohh wow, sounds so good!! Carrots are my #1 definitely.. Can’t believe you didn’t invite me over!! LOL, have a great day 🙂 .

       

Leave a Reply

 
