RSS

Foodie PenPals!!

24 Sep

Hi there!! Long time no see πŸ˜› Sorry about that!!

Soooo, a couple of months ago I came across Alek’s awesome blog, Run Serve Cook and read his post about Foodie PenPals. This interested me, as I had been hoping to interact with more bloggers, and this seemed a great way πŸ™‚ .

Basically, you join in by signing up at Carol-Anne’s blog,Β This Is Rock Salt, who got the idea from The Lean Green Bean, here.

Two people are “linked-up” by Carol AnneΒ and email each other, a sender and a recipient. The sender must ask the their PenPal questions about their dietary needs, allergies if they have any, preferences and so on.. gaining knowledge of what to buy for them. The spending limit for the UK and Europe, is Β£10 and you must include something written. If you’re interested, just click on the above button πŸ™‚ .

So, last month I took part and was paired with Anna, who sent me a great box of items:

See those two tubs?? Well the one at the back was filled with some gorgeous Cashew Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies – Anna took my veganism into much consideration and made me vegan cookies πŸ™‚ thank you Anna!! They were lovely and soft with a slight crunch – a great balance!! Here’s a close-up:

Yes.. I did open the tub before even taking it out of the box :O hehe..

Now, the other tub contained something quite interesting, as you can probably see in the first photo.. Salt & Vinegar Chickpeas?? Yes!! Now I must say I never EVER liked Salt & Vinegar flavoured crisps – in fact the smell would make my eyes water!! But these – wow!! They are crispy, very vinegar-y ((yup, that is a word πŸ˜‰ )) and not to salty at-all!! Check these out..

Anna was so good, she even wrote down recipes for both the cookies and the chickpeas πŸ™‚ Thanks, Anna!! She also included a letter explaining why she chose the items she sent me. Anna loves to make and bake “comfort food” at home, and she found a way to make things healthier and vegan, as I requested in my email πŸ™‚ .

Also in my box was a huge 70% bar of Green & Blacks, which I had never tried before ((and did not realise was vegan until then!! It lasted me about 2 weeks πŸ™‚ . Those cookies – not so long πŸ˜‰ )), a bag of Free-From Chocolate Discs, which I found a bit overly-sweet, not being a fan of “milk” chocolates, but anyways my bro liked them and was none-the-wiser to their vegan-ness πŸ˜› . I also got 3 – yes, 3!! Nakd bars, including my FAVOURITE – Cashew Cookie!!

I found the experience really fun and really enjoyed going out to the shops to find things for my PenPal.

I sent out my box to Keeley at Phat CupcakeΒ who informed me that she had a sweet-tooth but looked for healthy treats, and also wanted something “bizarre” ….fancy seeing what I sent her and if you think it was bizarre enough?? Keeley wrote an amazing post about what I sent her πŸ™‚ . Check it out HERE

So, whyΒ did I not post this last month?? As explained in an earlier post, unfortunately my laptop is not working as it should 😦 . I took it to a man who fixes computers but he saw no faults and informed me that it does not have a virus – which is a positive of course.. But it is still messing up a lot…. SO I am posting as often as I can, inbetween the times where I get so frustrated that I’ve had to write up the same post 4 or 5 times, I want to throw it out of a window…. Don’t worry, I won’t!! πŸ˜‰

Stay tuned for my next post – probably this month’s Foodie PenPal swapΒ  – which, I am hoping, will be soon, if this laptop allows it!!

I am sending out my parcel today, to Sally, who has 2 blogs. One HERE which is all about food, dishes and recipes, and THIS ONE which is more about things that Sally likes and finds interesting. Be sure to check them out soon!!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2012 in Crafts, Foodie PenPals

 

Tags:

6 responses to “Foodie PenPals!!

  1. たくみ

    September 24, 2012 at 13:32

    すごい‼ γ‚ˆγγ§γγŸγ­β€Ό

     
  2. jadesparx

    September 24, 2012 at 13:36

    Thanks, Pat…. A little English next time perhaps?? πŸ˜‰

     
    • たくみ

      September 24, 2012 at 14:36

      γγ‚Œγ‚’θΏ°γΉγ¦γ―γ„γ‘γͺい

       
  3. runservecook

    September 24, 2012 at 20:36

    WOOOOW I am so happy i didnt know i inspired this:) Thanks for the shoutout ! It is sooo fun!

     
    • jadesparx

      September 24, 2012 at 21:46

      Thank you Alek πŸ™‚ I really like your blog and the latest updates and new look!! Keep up the good work πŸ™‚

       

Leave a Reply

 
