RSS

Foodie PenPals – September Reveal ((and other things..))

08 Oct

Hi πŸ™‚

In my last post I wrote about Foodie PenPals and my first experience of taking part. Well I took part again, for September, and got matched up with Jessica. She sent me the following:

A Vegan book πŸ™‚ as soon as I saw the title of this it made me giggle a little, but then when I saw that bit at the bottom: “Foreword by Isa Chandra Moskowitz”, I got excited!! I used to visit Isa’s blog a lot, here, ((which I plan to do again around Christmas time to make these….))

She also sent me a box of lemon-ginger tea ((which I will be enjoying in the evenings when I read and sew πŸ™‚ – I love the taste of lemon and ginger together)), a pack of Miso soup sachets, which I love and haven’t had for quite a while, as well as a bag of lentils, which she even included a quick, cosy-sounding recipe for, in the cute card that she included..

Here is the recipe:

Sausage, Rosemary & Lentil Stew

Slice some veggie sausages into thick rounds and brown in a frying pan with some olive oil. Put sausages to one side.

Saute some onion, garlic, finely diced carrots and celery until softened. Add a couple of chopped, fresh rosemary stalks to the pan, then stir in 200ml of stock and a tin of chopped tomatoes.

Add a couple of tablespoons of lentils, then return the sausages to the pan. Stir to combine, then simmer gently for 30 minutes.

___________________________________________________________________________________

Thank you Jessica – I really like and will use everything you have sent me, which I may post some recipes for in the future πŸ™‚

I sent out my Foodie PenPals package to Sally, but she has not posted about it, for some reason :(. Anyways, as far as I can remember, I sent her a jar of PB & Co. Smooth Peanut Butter, some Vanilla Redbush Teabags, a small sachet of my Nori Sprinkle, a bar of Divine 70% Dark Chocolate with Raspberries, some Nairns Oatcakes and some other things..

Anyways, other happenings of the last few weeks have included:

Doll making, including these..

Β Β Β Β Β Β 

..which are now all for sale on my Etsy page πŸ˜€ please check it out HERE!!

Dad, Pat and I went to Tonbridge Market on Saturday, then toΒ a Farmer’s Market on the way home ((where I met and caught up with an old friend, who works there πŸ™‚ ))!! We ended up getting quite a load, for an amazing price!! I got:

  • 2 bunches of green Bananas
  • Some very big, fresh Vine Tomatoes
  • 5 fresh, ripe Figs
  • 3 huge Bell Peppers
  • A bag of Pistachios
  • A bag of mixed Nuts and Raisins
  • A bag of Potatoes ((well, these were Dad’s))
  • A bag of Chocolate Brazil Nuts ((Pat’s))

and more that I can’t remember.. but it was a heck of a lot for the price that we paid πŸ˜€ I am definitely going back there soon!! As well as the haul of fruit and veg, when at Tonbridge Market, I went over to a craft stall, where some buttons ((of course πŸ˜‰ )) caught my eye. So, naturally, I got some for my StitchUps ((of course I already had about 400 at home but I can’t seem to pass them without looking ^_^))..

Check out that leopard-print one πŸ˜€ I hadn’t seen one like this before!! Yup, I collect buttons πŸ˜› ..and socks.. but that’s another story πŸ˜‰

..I finally got around to painting this canvas of Otis, for my Mum..
To be honest, I’m not 100% happy with this painting.. I really hope to get better!!

….Aaaand September brought lots of fruitiness ….

Β  Β 

Want the recipes?? Look out for my next post πŸ˜› …….. Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 8, 2012 in Crafts, Foodie PenPals

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Foodie PenPals – September Reveal ((and other things..))

  1. たくみ

    October 8, 2012 at 03:14

    Yet another brilliant post! πŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
