RSS

Finally Caught A Break!!

24 Jul

Woohoo!!

I finally feel like I’ve just caught a break in my life 🙂

WP_004193

After loads of waiting, sitting around, not knowing WHAT to do with myself for months and months, I have a job. An alright job. That may turn more permanent, depending on how I do!!

I had 3 days of work at the Kent County Show, selling Strawberries & Cream, fruit salads, other fruit, smoothies, OJ and water. It was great!! So much fun and I honestly wish that I could do it full-time!! But alas, it was only the 3 days of the show. Hopefully the guy running the fruit stalls will call me again the next time he’s in the area, because I loved doing it and all the team were really friendly and great 🙂 . But ahh well, for now I have other things to focus on..

..Like making a new StitchUp for a friend of my Mum’s:

SONY DSC

Like my new job!! So, what am I doing?? Well, I’m working at a tiny café at a country park, just a couple of miles from my home. I’m just selling ice creams, cold food and hot and cold drinks, as well as serving and cleaning up, so it could just be a summer thing, as they are much busier and need help in the summer. But hopefully it will turn into more than that. They have already increased my hours to 32 a week, from 20!! Though I don’t agree with what they sell ((me being vegan, and it being a traditional café)), it is a job, a job at last. Something that I have been waiting for ((again..)) for far too long. I no longer need to go crazy 😉 woohoo!!

Funny 5 Minutes

I’ve been fuelling up on fruit – lots of it!! Loading up on carbs and as many summer fruits as we can afford!! I’ve been riding to and from work most days ((I started last Monday)), but not been cycling much more than that, so only about 5 miles a day right now, mainly due to the intense heat!!

Since I have been cycling more this year generally, I have felt happier and more alive and energetic. One problem though – I got low iron from increasing my activity so much :/ – I went to give blood last month and they told me that my iron was too low to give. Iron deficiency is the most common amongst mineral deficiencies, and, depending on absorption, shouldn’t be too hard to remedy. So what have I been doing to up my levels??

EATING WATERMELON!! Yup, half of a large watermelon ((a favourite breakfast for me)) is 30% of my iron requirements in one day 🙂 who knew!!??

SONY DSC..hence why there are currently 5 in my bedroom!! Ohh, that and the fact that it’s watermelon season and I LOVE WATERMELON!!!!

So should have no problem with bumping up my iron again..

12.09.2012 - Half A Watermelon

This was in September last year – around the time that I found the high-carb lifestyle. It’s not a big melon at all, really!!

Unfortunately, I’ve been lacking in the photography department ((apart from of fruit, of course 😉 )), as I’ve been more busy and it’s slipped my mind. Hopefully tomorrow ((my day off)) and over the summer I’ll snap some photos of outside, animals, people and this weather!! For now, this is the most recent photo I have, really:

SONY DSC

Oops, that’s another fruit pic – my current haul, actually 😛 . Well, here are a couple of snaps from Cornwall last year, as this weather is reminding me of that holiday right now….

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Maybe I’ll get around to making that WIAW post soon…. 🙂

Enjoy the rest of your summer!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 24, 2013 in Crafts, Photography, Serious Stuff

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
